Driving on a suspended license in Henrico Virginia is dealt very strictly. Consulting with a traffic lawyer in Henrico Virginia will be in your best interest in case you are charged for driving on a suspended license in Henrico Virginia. A number of major highways pass through Henrico Virginia such as I-295, I-95 and I-64. This means that the Henrico Virginia Police Department and Virginia State Police will have a number of reasons to pull you over for reckless driving or speeding. In case they find out that you are driving on a suspended license, then it will result into some serious consequences. In such situation, only an experienced traffic lawyer in Henrico Virginia can provide you with the best defense strategy.
The traffic offenses in Henrico Virginia are classified according to Virginia motor vehicle code. A traffic offense is either charged as a traffic violation, misdemeanor or a felony. While most of the traffic tickets are issued for minor traffic infractions, but some of them are considered as actual criminal misdemeanors. The most serious offenses are felonies. Driving on a suspended license is considered as a class 1 misdemeanor. A class 1 misdemeanor means that you can face a punishment of up to 12 months in prison in addition with a fine of up to $2500 if you get convicted for the charge of driving on a suspended license in Henrico Virginia. In case you get convicted for the similar offense for three time within a period of 10 years, there will be a mandatory jail time of 10 days. Conviction for driving on a suspended license in Henrico Virginia is also penalized by a further license suspension for the similar period for which it was primarily suspended. While first conviction for driving on a suspended license in Henrico Virginia does not usually get penalized by an active jail sentence, at time the offender may get a suspended jail time. This means that you will not go to jail until you refrain from committing the same offense again for a determined time period. It needs to be remembered that this is only a general rule of thumb and it does not rule out the possibility of getting an actual jail time for the first offense. The decision is solely based on how an experienced traffic lawyer defend you in front of the judge.
In case you are charged for a subsequent offense of driving on a suspended license within the past decade, then it is most possible that you will face a jail sentence. Not for months but definitely for a few days. A third subsequent offense carries a mandatory 10 days incarceration and there will be no credit for good behavior. For offense beyond that, the punishment will be stricter.